From the better-late-than-never department … word has been received at PBRTV of the winners of the 2007 Pittsburgh Achievement in Radio Awards, sponsored by the March of Dimes.

The awards ceremony was held Nov. 8. (In our defense, we’ve been sickly. Cough, cough. And the mail delivery here isn’t like it used to be. And the sun was in our eyes. Ahem.)

KDKA (1020) won for “best news coverage,” while the station’s Paul Rasmussen and Rose Ryan Douglas tied for “best newscaster.”

WAMO-FM (106.7) won for “best station sponsored community event” and took both awards in the public-affairs category.

Monty, Chris and Zeke of WDSY-FM (107.9) won for “best morning show,” Scott Alexander of WZPT-FM (100.7) won “best midday show on a music station,” while his afternoon co-worker Jonny Hartwell was honored for “best afternoon show on a music station.”

The “round mound of sound,” Kevin Miller of KDKA, won the award for best midday talk show and was named “best new talent in the market,” while John McIntire, formerly of WTZN-FM (93.7), was named best talk show host overall.

Best afternoon talk show awards went to Fred Honsberger of KDKA, while Mike Tyler of WDSY won “best evening show on a music station” for “Big Country Nights.”

Bev Smith’s syndicated program, which originates at WAMO (860), shared the award for “best evening talk show” with “Pittsburgh Gamenight” on ESPN’s WEAE (1250).

KD’s Jeff Hathhorn was named best sports reporter, while Bonnie Diver of Metro Networks was named best traffic reporter.

In the college division, Pitt’s WPTS-FM (92.1) copped three awards, including “best sports play-by-play,” while Robert Suhr of Point Park’s WPPJ (670 kHz carrier current, and online) was named “best news or public affairs host.”

A complete list can be read at, and soundbites are also available.